Cook.Bake.Eat.Write.

Double Chocolate Brownies with Nuts

Posted on: May 20, 2009

IMG_4773

What makes a good brownie? Though everyone seems to have a particular preference when it comes to these little squares, I think all would agree that a fudgy moist base and a flaky top are key. I’ve tried more than a few recipes and have definitely eaten more than my fair share of these little fudgy darlings–so I would say I recognize a good brownie when I see and eat it! The recipe below is everything a brownie should be–rich, dark chocolatey, fudgy in the middle with that wafer-thin layer of flakiness on top. Doesn’t get better than that. 

In my experience, I have found a few elements crucial to brownie baking success.

1) USE GOOD 70% DARK CHOCOLATE.

2) USE BUTTER. People, please be reasonable. If you’re on a diet, don’t eat brownies.

3) Let the brownies cool overnight at room temperature. They’ll cut better that way.

Anyway, I’m not really sure anymore where I got this recipe from (Update: I looked–it’s from Martha). I’ve made them several times now–passing them out at work, giving them to hubby to take to work–and have heard no complaints! As for the nuts and chocolate, I usually play around with different varieties and companies. In terms of nuts, I’ve used pistachios, almonds, walnuts, pecans and hazelnuts (walnuts are still my favorite–though pecans taste mighty fine too!). In terms of chocolate, I’ve tried 70 and even 90% dark from Cadbury, Lindt and Valhrona. My advice is if it tastes good by itself, it’ll taste good baked too.

Enjoy!

Double Chocolate Brownies with Nuts (Martha Stewart)

6 tbsp (113g) unsalted butter

6 0z (170g) good quality 70% dark chocolate

1/4 cup good quality cocoa

3/4-1 cup plain flour (I use 3/4 for a fudgier brownie)

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup-3/4 cup fine sugar (I use 1/2 c.)

2 eggs

2 tsp pure vanilla

1 handful nuts (hazelnuts, walnuts, pistachio, pecans, almond), chopped

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350F. Prepare an 8 inch square pan with butter and parchment, for easy removal.

2) Melt in a bain marie butter, chocolate and cocoa powder. Set aside and allow to cool.

3) Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. In another bowl combine the sugar, eggs and vanilla and beat until pale and has doubled in volume – roughly 3 to 4 minutes. Quickly, but thoroughly, fold the chocolate mixture into the egg and sugar foam. Once combined, add the flour mixture and stir just until combined.

4) Pour batter into prepared baking pan, making sure to even out the top. Bake for 30 minutes if you want that super fudgy brownie, or otherwise 35 minutes. To test the brownie, insert and remove a toothpick into the brownie. It should have moist crumbs clinging to its sides.

5) Once the brownie is adequately baked, let it cool in the pan overnight before cutting.

IMG_4777

 

1 Response to "Double Chocolate Brownies with Nuts"

[…] I had originally planned on using my stand-by recipe from Martha Stewart, I ended up having to try a new one—one that doesn’t require any […]

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Fudgy Brownies for a BBQ « Cook.Bake.Eat.Write.: [...] I had originally planned on using my stand-by recipe from Martha Stewart, I ended up having to try a new one—one that doesn’t requir
  • Mama Leah: Well, my darling, I am extremely impressed and inspired. I, of course, don't have one iota of the culinary skills that you have (except for baking, b
  • saffronandbasil: Thanks for the recipe. By the way, LOVE LOVE your site.
